Wallonia-Brussels week

From 6 to 12 November 2021

The Wallonia Export-Investment Agency (AWEX) and Wallonia-Brussels International (WBI) will organise the Wallonia-Brussels Visibility Week at the Belgian pavilion on the Expo site. This event aims to take advantage of the exceptional showcase offered by Expo 2020 to present the expertise and excellence of Wallonia and the Wallonia-Brussels Federation to visitors from around the world.

The week in brief...

Based on the major themes of the World Expo and the key economic sectors of the United Arab Emirates, WBI and the Wallonia Export-Investment Agency will organise activities for the general public based around culture and industry (space, agri-food, digital, design, equine, etc.).
Other activities aimed at a specific public (universities, companies, official delegations) will take place in the Business Centre of the Belgian pavilion. These targeted activities will aim to bring together key contacts with a view to creating synergies with Walloon and international participants.

Agri-food

Haïssam Jijakli, Extraordinary Professor of urban and peri-urban agriculture at the University of Liège, will hold a masterclass on the primary production of fruits and vegetables from innovative systems based above ground (hydroponics, aquaponics, rooftop cultivation, container cultivation) including Arom@home, the Smart aquaponics application and the Optibiomass process.

BellaVie will then lead a workshop on the role of diet in health and the importance of healthy and diversified microbiota thanks to foods rich in probiotics.

Chocolate

The Belvas chocolate makers and the company Linatelle, which creates healthy gourmet products in the Be-nat range, will offer a discovery workshop on chocolate and sweet delicacies, which are undoubtedly some of the wonderful things from our region.

Belvas chocolate will focus on the Bean to Bar process, which involves making their own chocolate from cocoa beans. This process is used by a handful of Belgian craftsmen who have chosen quality and craftsmanship starting with the selection of the beans, through roasting, grinding and conching.

Linatelle will present the features of the ingredients used in the recipes for its cookies and spreads and the advantages of organic products. Participants will also be invited to taste and smell ingredients.

Diamonds

Diamonds are highly prized by the Emiratis and we are fortunate in Wallonia to have one of the world's greatest jewellers in the person of Pino Spitaleri, who is currently creating a workshop/boutique in Saudi Arabia whose concept is to include the customer in the design of the jewellery. He also moved to Dubai in January 2021 and wants to establish a setting workshop there.

Pino Spitaleri will hold a masterclass in the form of workshops in the pavilion over two full days. Presentation of a diamond TIARA (headdress) and the different stages in its realization: design, 3D printer, platinum castings, polisher. Design schools in the Emirates will be able to benefit from this sharing of knowledge and advanced techniques.

The first day will conclude with a prestigious evening event on the panoramic terrace of the pavilion, with showcases of jewellery pieces.

Equine

Equisfair, the equestrian sector cluster in Wallonia, will present a masterclass featuring the strengths of our region, which is one of the world leaders in this sector. Wallonia is indeed a strategic partner for the sector's professionals. Firstly in terms of logistics, with Liège airport specialising in the transport of horses. Voted best cargo airport in the world for 2020, in particular because of its flexibility in the midst of a health crisis (the airport was chosen by the WHO as a logistics hub),Liège Airport specialises in the transport of perishable foodstuffs and animals. Racehorses are treated like kings, with a 5-star hotel with 24-hour personalised services: the Horse Inn. Secondly, in terms of tourism, there are large numbers of nature and sports activities related to horses that can be done alone or with the family. And lastly, in terms of the health of the horses and their optimisation at the sporting level. The company Kataklop will present its mobile application offering a complete service dedicated to riders, riding schools, stables and their instructors, as well as to specialised brands and companies.

The masterclass will end with the testimony of international rider Lara De Liedekerke. Recently crowned Belgian Champion for the fifth consecutive year, she has also won the Nations Cup team event.

Image & Digital

The TWIST cluster will organise a seminar at the Business Centre to present the Walloon "Live Sport & Entertainment" sector and the business opportunities with the UAE. The venue will then be transformed into a veritable theme park where visitors will be able to take full advantage of the playful side of all these cutting-edge technologies through animations produced by the Walloon companies Dirty Monitor (virtual reality), Ionnyk (the first connected art frame in the world) and Vigo Universal (augmented and virtual reality).

Fashion & Design

Fashion and design are very popular sectors in the United Arab Emirates and are also among the assets that the Wallonia-Brussels Federation wishes to highlight during this visibility week. This week comes at the same time as Dubaï Design Week , which will be held from 8 to 12 November 2021. It is an opportunity for the Walloon participants to see the opportunities on site.

The programme for Wallonia-Brussels Week includes two sessions focusing on the creativity and excellence of Belgian talent.

The NIYONA, design studio, specialising in high quality custom-made leather goods, will offer a participative workshop during which the brand will share its unique expertise and its passion for the leather goods trade.

The design studio MLSTUDIO will offer a workshop entitled "Design the life you love", which will allow participants to experiment with the creative process of mood-boards and discuss this experience.

Space

The Wallonia Export-Investment Agency-WBI joint platform in Research and Innovation has entrusted several scientists from the Wallonia-Brussels Federation with the development of our space sector.

Astrophysicists Sarah Baatout and Vladimir Pletser will lead an inspiring, dynamic dialogue on space exploration in Wallonia. Sarah Baatout will explain how technologies developed in Wallonia and tested in space can benefit life on Earth.

The projects presented will be interspersed with artistic vignettes on the theme of space. It is an original concept that will put stars in your eyes thanks to five artists from the Wallonia-Brussels Federation whose performances will be filmed in the space setting of the Euro Space Center: Olivier Lamboray, Isabelle Arpin, Daniel Vivès-Lynch, Daniel Van Quickelberghe & Pierre-Emmanuel Paulis.

The afternoon of this space day will be dedicated to young people, with an animation organised by the Euro Space Center..

Tourism

Wallonia is full of attractive tourist treasures for nationals of the Gulf State. Through its three tourist centres (recreational, nature & culture), Wallonia has infrastructures and services of an international standing to attract and welcome a demanding clientele such as visitors from the UAE.

Wallonia Belgium Tourism will offer a 360° immersion day in Wallonia. The morning will be devoted to a workshop for the press and professionals of the tourism sector. This workshop will present Wallonia's tourism assets as well as Visit Wallonia, the new brand set up to revive the sector following the COVID-19 crisis. 360-degree virtual reality films will be shown to Emirati tour operators so that they can experience Wallonia as if they were there through this sensory experience.

The public and potential tourists will be able to enjoy this VR animation during the afternoon.

Water and energy

The Walloon Minister in charge of climate and energy, Mr Philippe Henry, will carry out a mission to Abu Dhabi in January 2022 as part of the IRENA General Assembly and the WFES (World Future Energy Summit) to be held in Abu Dhabi from 17 to 19 January 2022. He will also respond to an invitation from John Cockerill, a company heavily involved in the construction of solar power plants in the United Arab Emirates. This theme will therefore not be presented during Wallonia-Brussels week in November.

The cultural programme

Wallonia-Brussels week will be interspersed by several daily artistic performances in front of the Belgian pavilion.

The talent of the following providers will be honoured:

  • Laurent Blondiau and the band Määk. A Belgian musician and jazz trumpetist, he received the best European musician prize in 2009 awarded by the Jazz Academy.
  • The Namur Stilt Walkers
  • In the Air - Promotional & technological magic

Magicians Clément Kerstenne and Philippe Bougard will spice up this Wallonia-Brussels week for the enjoyment of young and old.

A gala evening will also be held at La Perle (the permanent show of the Walloon Franco Dragone, within the Al Habtoor City hotel complex.

Copyright : Skuds-Simon Fusillier

The multisectoral economic mission

The Wallonia Export-Investment Agency will also organise a multi-sector economic mission on the same dates, in parallel with Wallonia-Brussels Week. The main purpose of this mission will be to take advantage of the context of the World Expo to allow Walloon companies to actively prospect for business throughout the United Arab Emirates.

The programme for this mission will include company visits, B2B meetings, seminars, participative workshops and more. Participating companies will have the opportunity to benefit from the Wallonia Export-Investment Agency's network, expertise and logistical organisation to meet key prospects directly on the ground in a business-friendly climate. To maximise the economic impact of this mission, it will focus exclusively on the different sectors highlighted during Wallonia-Brussels Week.

Events will be held throughout the six months of the Expo by BelExpo, the organiser of Belgium's participation in the Expo, as well as by its regional partners and its sponsors and suppliers.

Some key dates in the Belgian pavilion:

  • Flemish Week: 24 to 28 October 2021
  • Wallonia-Brussels Week: 6 to 12 November 2021
  • Brussels Week: 31 January to 4 February 2022
  • Belgian National Day: 5 February 2022

All about Wallonia

Discovering Wallonia.be

Your international commercial and cultural projects

Discover Wallonia Export-Investment Agency services

La semaine Wallonie-Bruxelles

Du 06 au 12 novembre 2021

L’Agence wallonne à l’Exportation et aux Investissements étrangers (AWEX) et Wallonie-Bruxelles International (WBI) organiseront la semaine de visibilité Wallonie-Bruxelles sur le pavillon belge sur le site de l’Exposition. Cet événement entend profiter de la vitrine exceptionnelle qu’est l’Expo 2020 pour présenter le savoir-faire et l’excellence de la Wallonie et de la Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles aux visiteurs du monde entier.

La semaine en bref...

Sur base des grands thèmes de l’Exposition universelle et des secteurs économiques porteurs aux Emirats arabes unis, des activités grand public seront organisées autour de la culture et de l’industrie (spatial, agroalimentaire, digital, design, équin…) par WBI et l’AWEX.
D’autres activités destinées à un public spécifique (universités, entreprises, délégations officielles) prendront place dans le Business Center du pavillon belge. Ces activités ciblées auront pour but de rassembler des interlocuteurs privilégiés afin de pouvoir créer des synergies avec les participants wallons et internationaux.

Agro-alimentaire

Haïssam Jijakli, Professeur extraordinaire en agriculture urbaine et péri-urbaine à l’Université de Liège, organisera une master class sur la production primaire de fruits et légumes à partir de systèmes innovants basés sur le hors sol (hydroponie, aquaponie, culture en toiture, culture en container) dont Arom@home, l’application Smart aquaponics ou le procédé Optibiomasse.

L’entreprise BellaVie animera ensuite un atelier sur le rôle de l’alimentation sur la santé et l’intérêt d’un microbiote sain et diversifié grâce aux aliments riches en probiotiques.

Chocolat

La chocolaterie Belvas et l’entreprise Linatelle qui créée les produits sains et gourmands de la gamme Be-nat proposeront un workshop de découverte autour du chocolat et des gourmandises sucrées qui font assurément partie des bonnes choses de notre région.

La chocolaterie Belvas mettra l’accent sur la filière Bean to Bar (« de la fève à la tablette ») qui consiste à fabriquer son propre chocolat à partir des fèves de cacao. Ce procédé est utilisé par une poignée d’artisans belges qui ont fait le choix de la qualité et de l’artisanat depuis le choix des fèves, en passant par la torréfaction, le broyage ou le conchage.

L’entreprise Linatelle présentera les particularités des ingrédients utilisés dans les recettes se ses biscuits et pâtes à tartiner et les avantages que présentent les produits biologiques. Les participants seront ici aussi amenés à goûter et sentir des ingrédients.

Diamant

Les diamants sont très prisés des Emiratis et nous avons la chance en Wallonie de compter un des plus grands joailliers du monde en la personne de Pino Spitaleri, qui développe actuellement un atelier/boutique en Arabie Saoudite dont le concept est d’inclure le client dans la conception de la joaillerie. Il vient par ailleurs de s’installer à Dubai en janvier 2021 et souhaite y installer un atelier de sertissage.

Pino Spitaleri organisera une master class sur le pavillon durant deux journées complètes sous la forme d’ateliers. Présentation d’un TIARA de diamant (parure de tête) et des différentes étapes de réalisation : design, imprimante 3D, pièces coulées en platines, polisseur. Des écoles de design aux Emirats pourront ainsi bénéficier de ce partage de connaissance et de techniques de pointe.

La première journée se conclura par un évènement de prestige en soirée sur la terrasse panoramique du pavillon avec des « showcases » de pièces de joaillerie.

Equin

Equisfair, le cluster de la filière équestre en Wallonie, présentera lors d’une master class les atouts de notre région qui figure parmi les leaders mondiaux du secteur. La Wallonie est en effet un partenaire stratégique pour les professionnels de la filière. Au niveau logistique tout d’abord, avec l’aéroport de Liège spécialisé en matière de transport des chevaux.

Elu meilleur aéroport cargo au monde pour l’année 2020, en raison notamment de sa flexibilité en pleine crise sanitaire (l’aéroport a été choisi par l’OMS comme hub logistique), Liège Airport est spécialisé dans le transport des denrées périssables ou des animaux. Les chevaux de course y sont traités comme des rois avec mise à disposition d’un hôtel 5 étoiles avec services personnalisés 24h24 : le Horse Inn. Au niveau touristique ensuite avec de nombreuses activités nature ou sportives en lien avec les chevaux à faire seul ou en famille. Et enfin au niveau de la santé des chevaux ou de leur optimisation au niveau sportif. L’entreprise Kataklop présentera notamment son application mobile offrant un service complet dédié tant aux cavaliers qu’aux centres équestres, écuries et leurs moniteurs, mais également aux marques et entreprises spécialisées.

La masterclass s’achèvera sur le témoignage de Lara De Liedekerke, cavalière internationale. Récemment sacrée Championne de Belgique pour la cinquième année consécutive, elle a aussi gagné la Coupe des Nations par équipe.

Image & numérique

Le cluster TWIST organisera un séminaire de présentation du secteur wallon « Live Sport & Entertainment » et des possibilités d’affaires avec les EAU au Business Center. Le lieu se transformera ensuite en véritable parc d’attraction où les visiteurs pourront profiter pleinement du côté ludique de toutes ces technologies de pointe à travers des animations réalisées par les entreprises wallonnes Dirty Monitor (réalité virtuelle), Ionnyk (le premier cadre d’art connecté au monde) & Vigo Universal (réalité augmentée et virtuelle).

Mode & Design

Secteurs très prisés aux Emirats Arabes Unis, la mode et le design font eux aussi partie des atouts que la Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles souhaite mettre à l’honneur durant cette semaine de visibilité. Celle-ci tombe justement au même moment que la Dubaï Design Week qui se tiendra du 8 au 12 novembre 2021. L’occasion pour les participants wallons de se rendre compte des opportunités sur place.

Le programme de la semaine Wallonie-Bruxelles inclut deux sessions axées sur la créativité et l’excellence des talents belges.

Le studio de création NIYONA, spécialisé dans la haute maroquinerie sur-mesure, proposera un workshop participatif durant lequel la marque partagera son savoir-faire unique et sa passion pour le métier de maroquinier.

Le studio de design MLSTUDIO proposera un workshop intitulé ”Design the life you love”, qui permettra aux participants d’expérimenter le processus créatif du mood-board et d’échanger autour de cette expérience.

Spatial

La plateforme conjointe AWEX-WBI en Recherche et Innovation, a confié à plusieurs scientifiques de la Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles la mise en valeur de notre secteur spatial.

Les astrophysiciens Sarah Baatout et Vladimir Pletser mèneront un dialogue inspirant et dynamique sur l’exploration spatiale en Wallonie. Sarah Baatout y expliquera comment les technologies développées en Wallonie et expérimentées dans l’espace, peuvent être un bénéfice pour la vie sur Terre.

Les projets présentés seront entrecoupés de capsules artistiques sur le thème du spatial. Un concept original qui vous mettra des étoiles plein les yeux grâce à 5 artistes de la Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles dont les performances seront filmées dans les décors spatiaux de l’Euro Space Center : Olivier Lamboray, Isabelle Arpin, Daniel Vivès-Lynch, Daniel Van Quickelberghe & Pierre-Emmanuel Paulis.

L’après-midi de cette journée placée sous le signe de l’espace sera consacrée aux jeunes avec une animation organisée par l’Euro Space Center.

Tourisme

La Wallonie regorge de trésors touristiques attractifs pour les ressortissants du Golfe. A travers ses trois pôles touristiques (récréatif, nature & culture), la Wallonie dispose d’infrastructures et de services de standing internationaux pour attirer et recevoir une clientèle exigeante comme celle provenant des EAU.

Wallonie Belgique Tourisme proposera une journée d’immersion en Wallonie à 360°. La matinée sera consacrée à un workshop à destination de la presse et des professionnels du secteur touristique. Cet atelier permettra de présenter les atouts touristiques de la Wallonie ainsi que Visit Wallonia, la nouvelle marque mise en place pour relancer le secteur après la crise Covid. Des films en réalité virtuelle 360 degrés seront projetés à destination des tours opérateurs émiratis pour leur permettre, par le biais d’une expérience sensorielle, de vivre la Wallonie comme s’ils y étaient.

Le grand public et les touristes potentiels pourront bénéficier de cette animation VR durant l’après-midi.

Eau & énergie

Le Ministre wallon en charge du climat et de l’énergie, Monsieur Philippe Henry, effectuera une mission à Abu Dhabi en janvier 2022 dans le contexte de l’Assemblée générale d’IRENA et du salon WFSE (World Future Energy Summit) qui se tiendra à Abu Dhabi du 17 au 19 janvier 2022. Il répondra également à une invitation de la société John Cockerill largement impliquée dans les constructions de centrales solaires aux Emirats arabes unis. Cette thématique ne sera donc pas présentée lors de la semaine Wallonie-Bruxelles de novembre.

La programmation culturelle

La semaine Wallonie-Bruxelles sera ponctuée de plusieurs prestations artistiques quotidiennes devant le pavillon de la Belgique.

Le talent des prestataires suivants sera mis à l’honneur :

  • Laurent Blondiau et la formation Määk. Musicien Belge, trompettiste de jazz, il a reçu le prix du meilleur musicien européen décerné en 2009 par l'Académie du jazz.
  • Les Echasseurs de Namur
  • In the Air - Magie promotionnelle & technologique

Les magiciens Clément Kerstenne et Philippe Bougard pimenteront de leur présence cette semaine Wallonie-Bruxelles pour le bonheur des petits et grands.

Une soirée de gala sera également organisée à la Perle (le spectacle permanent du wallon Franco Dragone, au sein du complexe hôtelier Al Habtoor City.

Copyright : Skuds-Simon Fusillier

La mission économique multisectorielle

Aux mêmes dates, en parallèle de la semaine Wallonie-Bruxelles, une mission économique plurisectorielle sera également organisée par l’AWEX. Cette mission aura principalement pour but de profiter du contexte de l’Exposition universelle pour permettre aux entreprises wallonnes de faire de la prospection commerciale active sur l’ensemble du territoire des Emirats Arabes Unis.

Le programme de cette mission comportera des visites d’entreprises, des rencontres B2B, des séminaires, des ateliers participatifs... Les entreprises participantes auront ainsi la possibilité de bénéficier du réseau, de l’expertise et de l’organisation logistique de l’AWEX afin de rencontrer directement chez eux des prospects privilégiés dans un climat favorable aux affaires. Dans le but de maximiser les retombées économiques de cette mission, elle se concentrera exclusivement sur les différents secteurs mis à l’honneur au cours de la Semaine Wallonie-Bruxelles.

Des évènements seront organisés tout au long des 6 mois de l’Exposition par BelExpo, l’organisateur de la participation de la Belgique à cette Expo mais aussi par ses partenaires régionaux et ses sponsors ou fournisseurs.

Quelques dates-clés au sein du pavillon belge :

  • La Semaine flamande : du 24 au 28 octobre 2021
  • La Semaine Wallonie-Bruxelles : du 6 au 12 novembre 2021
  • La Semaine bruxelloise : du 31 janvier au 4 février 2022
  • La Journée nationale belge : le 5 février 2022

Tout sur la Wallonie

Découvrir Wallonia.be

Vos projets commerciaux ou culturels à l’international

Découvrir les services de l’AWEX